Murray Volunteers Honoured for Tireless Commitment

Murray Volunteers Honoured for Tireless Commitment
June 7, 2019 Katherine Stevens

Murray’s volunteers were acknowledged and celebrated during May’s National Volunteer Week.

While we recognised the efforts of all volunteers, we especially acknowledged the following individuals who have gone above and beyond donating significant time to bettering our community:

2019 Volunteer Sundowner and Awards

Volunteer of the Year, Over 25s

Youth Volunteer of the Year

Volunteer Organisation of the Year

Peter White – Dwellingup Community Compact and other local community groups.

Peter was acknowledged for his significant contribution to Dwellingup as well as to projects such as the Dwellingup Skate Park and Pump Track, banner project, and bike rack project.

Peter is a valued and respected member of the Dwellingup community, with over 25 years of volunteer service under his belt.

Michaela Gosby – Horesepower, St Augustine’s Parish, Murray Music and Drama Club and other community groups.

Michaela was acknowledged for over nine years of volunteer service. In 2018, together with her Golden Retriever Elsa, Michaela went through a rigorous screening process to achieve certification in the Story Dogs program.

Both Michaela and Elsa now attend Pinjarra Primary School once per week to encourage the children, who don’t typically like reading, to read one-on-one to Elsa.

Pinjarra Community Kitchen Inc.

For over five years, the Kitchen has provided fundamental support to Murray’s homeless, socially isolated and those under severe financial constraint.

Volunteers work tirelessly to support low income and minority groups, and to provide opportunity for social connection through the kitchen network and other organised activities.

Individual’s acknowledged for over 10 years of volunteer service within the Shire of Murray:

  • Warren Haugh, Dwellingup Primary School P&C, Dwellingup Pumpkin Festival, Bendigo Bank Board
  • Alastair McKechnie, South Yunderup Residents and Ratepayers Association Inc.
  • Heather (Dawn) Hodgkinson, Edenvale Working Group
  • Stan Chegwidden, Murray House Resource Centre
  • Irene Stokes, Murray Districts Historical Society
  • Mary Fegan, Murray Districts Historical Society
  • Vincent Taylor, Murray Districts Historical Society
  • Valma King, Murray Districts Historical Society
  • Sheila Cullinane, Murray Districts Historical Society
  • Mervyn Beacham, Murray Districts Historical Society
  • Brenda Beacham, Murray Districts Historical Society
  • Tom Hoffman, Murray Districts Historical Society
  • Penny Hoffman, Murray Districts Historical Society

2019 Emergency Services Annual Function

Shire of Murray Brigade Service Awards

Five Years: 

  • David Anderson
  • Luke McIntyre
  • Samantha Murray
  • Lucinda Sellenger
  • Mead Sellenger
  • Daniel Scott Tunbridge

10 Years: 

  • Charles Rosenthal
  • Kevin Tinker
  • Bailey Turner-Wilson

15 Years: 

  • Melanie King
  • Renae Armstrong
  • Roslyn Axleby

20 Years: 

  • Derek Clitheroe
  • Brett Kunzel

25 Years: 

  • Lorraine Webster
  • Michael Webster
  • Carol Adam

DFES Bush Fire Service Medals

15 Years:

  • Ken Bennett
  • Tracey Bennett
  • Trevor Hooton
  • Nigel Leach
  • Douglas McLarty
  • Ben Armstrong
  • Bob Webster
  • Derek Clitheroe
  • Brett Kunzel (Long Service Clasp 20 years)
  • Matthew Thurkle
  • Brendan Webster
  • Tim McBride

20 Years:

  • Robert Hill
  • Michael Webster (Long Service Clasp 25 years)
  • Julie Thurkle
  • Valerie Wills
  • Peter Thurkle
  • Glynne Wright
  • Margaret McBride
  • Garry Brehaut
  • Roger Camplin

25 Years:

  • Mark Dilley
  • Lance Pitter
  • Phil Slattery
  • Rosemary Pitter
  • Dave Turner
  • Rebecca Thompson
  • Lorraine Webster

30 Years:

  • Maurie Leach

35 Years:

  • Christine Thompson
  • Carol Adam
Request Further Information
Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.
Subscribe to our monthly eNewsletter