Freeman Christine Thompson Winner of 2020 Order of Australia Medal

Freeman Christine Thompson Winner of 2020 Order of Australia Medal
January 31, 2020 Katherine Stevens

Long-serving, retired Shire of Murray Councillor and Freeman Christine Thompson, has been duly recognised for her dedication and commitment to local government and the Murray community, receiving an Order of Australia Medal (general division) during the 2020 Australia Day Honours.

Christine has dedicated many years in service to the district including 31 years on Council, 16 of those years as Deputy Shire President. Christine further held positions on numerous boards and committees including 17 years as Chair of the Local Emergency Management Committee.

Christine’s knowledge, guidance and love of the Shire have seen her play a very significant role in the district’s journey having served as:

  • Board Member/Director – Pinjarra Community Financial Services Ltd. (Bendigo Bank)
  • Board Member/Chair – Peel Home and Community Support Services
  • President of West Murray Community Centre Hall Management Committee
  • Justice of the Peace NSW until 1983 – West Australia to current (volunteer)
  • President/Head Swimming coach and foundation member of the Pinjarra Swimming Club 2010 to 2014 (volunteer)
  • Life Member/President/Head Swimming Coach of Peel Aquatic Club – 1993 to 2010 (President – 15 years)
  • Life member of West Murray Volunteer Bushfire Brigade 1983 to current (volunteer)

Other Involvement:

  • Past member Peel Region Planning Committee – Local Government representative (ministerial appointment)
  • Shire of Murray Deputy President from 2013 to 2015
  • Member/Chair of Local Emergency Management Committee
  • Chair of Shire’s Planning and Development Committee
  • Shire of Murray Chair of the Bushfire Advisory Committee (20 years)
  • Chair of the Peel Region Safer WA committee (5 years)
  • Shire of Murray Chair of Community Crime Prevention Committee  (over 20 years)
  • Peel Local representative on the Local Government Emergency Management Committee
  • WALGA’s representative on the FESA Board 2000-2003, 2008-2012 (ministerial appointment)
  • Chair of the Shire’s Disability Access and Inclusion Committee
  • Past Peel Zone representative for Shire of Murray
  • WALGA’s representative on the State Recovery Committee
  • Shire of Murray Recovery Coordinator and Chair for Emergency Service for the Dwellingup Bush Fires in 2007 – volunteer up to 2016
  • Shire of Murray representative of the Peel Inlet Management Authority (ministerial appointment)
  • Past WAMA Rep. State Co-location Emergency Committee
  • Peel LG Representative for Peel on the District Emergency Management Committee (now the South Metro Committee)
  • Shire of Murray representative on the Joint Peel Development Assessment Panel
  • Women’s Royal Australian Navy 1964 – 1968 (Radar Branch)
Request Further Information