Two New Councillors Join the Ranks

Published on 18 October 2021

Photo of all the Councillors standing in the Council Chambers

Murray has welcomed two new Councillors, returned three re-nominating Councillors and retained its Shire President and Deputy President, following 2021 Local Government Election efforts.

A total of 3,318 votes, saw Stewart Carter and David Pike elected for their first four-year term, and Councillors Douglas McLarty, Stuart Kirkham and Geoff Black returned for a second term. They join sitting Councillors David Bolt, Ange Rogers, Casey Rose and Steve Lee.

Councillors David Bolt and Douglas McLarty will continue to lead Council over the next two years as Shire President and Deputy Shire President respectively, after being elected by fellow Councillors at the Special Council Meeting held Monday 18 October. 

Shire President Cr. David Bolt was grateful for the opportunity to represent the community and Council for his third consecutive term as President.

“Over the last four years, Council has demonstrated its commitment to diversifying Murray’s economy to ensure a sustainable future for our towns.

"As part of this commitment we are working to achieve a balance between existing industries including tourism, quality of life for residents, art, heritage, culture, protecting the environment and maintaining and delivering a pipeline of major projects that will grow new and existing industries. 

“By identifying and presenting compelling business cases, the Shire has received over $205M through government funding and private sector investment toward economic development projects, Dwellingup has been transformed into one of the state’s premier adventure destinations through tremendous collaboration across all levels of government and the community, and the Murray River Square and Foreshore has been redeveloped.

“Council is advocating for the delivery of stage two of the Pinjarra Heavy Haulage Deviation and the Western Deviation to improve access to the Pinjarra Industrial Area.

“The revitalisation of Pinjarra is progressing through projects such as the Exchange Hotel redevelopment, downgrading of the roads within the town centre to improve pedestrian activity and the activation of Edenvale Heritage and Heritage Railway Precincts.

“Additionally, construction of the Western Australian Food Innovation Precinct is well underway and Council is overseeing developments to ensure its successful operation.

“The future is bright for the district, particularly as over the next two years, Council continues to make Murray the best place to live, work and raise a family.

Cr. Bolt also acknowledged outgoing Councillors Brenda Beacham and Brad Cardilini for their years of service and contribution.

Eight candidates nominated for the 2021 Ordinary Council Election, which realised a 25.77% return vote.

Click to view election results

Click for information about the projects and initiatives that will be progressed over the next financial year